• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Intro from a Newbie here

jax

jax

Hi there. I am new to this forum, but not to mental illness. I have been ill since i was 17. (Now 38) At the time, I was living and going to university in the States. I lived there with an American family for 6 years there. In the 6 years, i was admitted to a psychiatric hospital 6 times. I have had many different dx's over the years from BPD to Schizophrenia to major depression and now the current dx is Bipolar.

I returned home from the States 14 years ago as i just couldn't afford my co-payments from my insurance bills. I have lost count of the amounts of times i have been hospitalized since I'm back home the past 14 years. Probably at least 30 times. However, I am now out almost three years. In 2005 i was became very obviously extremely manic. I did just the craziest and outlandish and out of character stuff. Was sleeping less that half hour at night. Went into hospital again and spent 6 months there.

I was put on Lithium 1200, Epilim 1700 and Seroquel 800mg. Despite being out of hospital almost 3 years - I struggle very often with my moods. Generally high or at times, almost manic moods. I swing very quickly. I suffer with Mixed moods and ultra-radian cycling. I don't have depressions often. Normally swing from very high to high or normal.

So i think that will explain a wee bit about me. Hopefully I will get to know some about the rest of you.> Jacqui

jax

jax

Oops it appears that I have posted this in the wrong section. Perhaps someone could move it. thanks.

S

shazza52

me too