• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

incapacity assessment

unlucky

unlucky

Founding Member
I've been receiving incapacity benefit for 2 years and never had to go for an assessment - I got a phone at 11.30 am yesterday saying I would have to attend one in the city centre, I'm now a mess!! I don't leave the house without my husband because I have terrible panic attacks and migraines when I even think of it. They told me if I couldn't go then I would have to get a letter from my doctor and a home visit would be arranged. Can anyone tell me what happens at these assessments and do you think it would be better if my husband got a day off work and went with me or should I get a home visit? I didn't sleep a wink last night worrying about this and I've not even got a date yet.

nickh

nickh

Founding Member
emac - you should definitely get in touch straight away with an advocacy service, either via your local Mental Health Trust or the CAB. They will explain things to you and should organise for someone to accompany you. On no account should you attend the interview or see someone in your own home unaccompanied - ideally this should be an advocate who understands the system but otherwise your husband. It would be worth getting an appointment with your GP as well and explaining what is happening.

Don't wait for the Benefits people to get in touch again but get in contact with someone who can give you proper advice now.

A brief description of the kind of tests applied and the points system can be found at.... http://www.covlaw.org.uk/welfare/leaflets/leaflet9.html
but this is no substitute for talking to someone who is expert in these matters (which I am not!).

Nick.

unlucky

unlucky

Founding Member