• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

In desperate need of some help and advise

B

Babygurlsmom

Hi this is my first time here and I'm looking for some advise or aye a kick in the butt.
Years ago when I was a teenager I went throughout some anxiety. I was raped and I suppose my reaction was kind of normal. I was given some pills and counselling and things got better.
Flash forward 15 years....
I've got a 9 year old daughter and a managers position with a company I've been with for over a decade and I feel like I'm falling apart.
It started maybe two weeks ago. I was very tired. I would come home from work and go to bed in my work clothes, wake up and go back to work only to come home and crash again. I can't count the number of times I've said to my daughter, momma is to sick to play right now.
Last week the severe anxiety started. Seems to be worse when I think of work...
Feels like that fight or flight response that never goes away. I shake, feel sick to my stomachs, my ears ring, constantly cold and always on edge. If the phone rings my heart jumps and my stomach flips, same thing happens if there is a loud noise.
Knowing something wasn't right I asked to have wed and Thursday off work. Both days I slept all day.
Friday I told my boss I wasn't able to come in. Saturday was the same except I called our local telehealth line for advise. They said to go to the hospital. I almost made it out the door but then I fell down the stairs hurting my hip and bruising my arm.
I went back to bed.
I went to my family doc last week but couldn't get the words out. I only told her about being tired and that I thought my blood pressure was high. M
Damn mental health stigma!

Folks, what do I do. How do I get the courage to take that first step?

Purple Chaos

Purple Chaos

Hi Babygurlsmom and welcome to the forum.