• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Impossible to do any hard work

D

Deedee3500

I try so hard to stop being lazy and do some hard work but when I do it immediately triggers anxiety and everything goes wrong. Please help, I’m a culinary student and I’m trying to manage stress and anxiety but I feel helpless

NWiddi

NWiddi

Forum Safety Team
A lot of people find cooking relaxing and it helps them destress and lower anxiety however I understand that doing it as a profession or studying it can be quite competitive and stressful.

Are you sure you're lazy and not just unmotivated and demoralised due to mental issues or other external factors? There is a big difference in my opinion.

I hope others will be along soon to share with you what helps them manage stress and anxiety.

I use medication which is a bit of a cheat as I'm not addressing the underlying issues. It's probably best to work things out with a little help from a therapist or others who have been through the same as you.

Can you tell me what stresses you out the most and what your anxiety is about?

D

Deedee3500

A lot of people find cooking relaxing and it helps them destress and lower anxiety however I understand that doing it as a profession or studying it can be quite competitive and stressful.

Are you sure you're lazy and not just unmotivated and demoralised due to mental issues or other external factors? There is a big difference in my opinion.

I hope others will be along soon to share with you what helps them manage stress and anxiety.

I use medication which is a bit of a cheat as I'm not addressing the underlying issues. It's probably best to work things out with a little help from a therapist or others who have been through the same as you.