• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

I'm just struggling

B

Benjamin Button

This is my first time actively seeking out help so this is new to me. I just want a place where I can actually open up and don't feel pressured to put on a happy face. I know that people here probably have worse problems than I do, and I don't intend in any way to devalue other people's personal struggles here, but I just hate feeling so alone.

I'm currently in school doing online classes and I just lose motivation the longer I sit there. I'm stuck in a really damaging cycle right now. I start off trying all these new strategies that are going to save me, but then I end up slowly quitting them and make up some excuse why I can't do it. I hate myself because I know that I can do it, but it's so much easier to put the blame on something else. After a while, I start looking up new strategies and start the cycle again. My grades slip and I hate myself even more because I know it's my own fault. I hate that I can hit a minor bump and I just lose all confidence in myself and fall further into the self-loathing.

I look at myself and I just see a failure already, I have this idea stuck in my head that I know I'm going to fail in life, so why try? I see myself in 20 years slowly dying in some desk job. I had a group of friends for a while that really helped me but slowly I cut myself off from each one of them and I'm too scared to try again. I know all of the issues I have could be solved if I just could gather some courage and ask for help, but I just can't get myself to do it.