I'm jealous of my brother

G

George10111

I don't know what to do. My brother's out of state and has been gone for a year. He took up running. Here's why its hard for me. I'm a runner at heart. I've been running for ten years. I have sacrificed hours, days, and time with friends and family to train for these certain goals. I have poured sweat, blood and tears; yes blood and tears into this sport and hobby. Its been the one thing that I'm remotely good at, and that people actually recognize me by. My brother has been running for only 4-6 months and has already brushed past all my personal best times that I worked so hard for, for ten years, getting 3-5th place out of hundreds of people in a race, etc. Its been really hard to want to talk to him because 1, we haven't seen each other in a long time, and 2, he thinks I'll be happy for him but frankly I am not. I'm happy for him finding love in this sport and I love him, he's my best friend but I can't help but feel shattered. As a result I feel like a terrible person. I don't tell anyone in my family how I feel about this. Part of me feels humiliated, that I worked so hard and people that I know recognized that and now all my hard work is being completely overshadowed. I'm not angry at him but I feel so discouraged and just don't know what to do.

Edit: This is very hard for me to come out and confess this. I can't just go on feeling like this or avoid talking to him. Has anyone else had something similar?

littlemachines

littlemachines