• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

I wish I was a teenager again

P

pokerfish12

I wish I was around 17-20 again because my life was so much better back then. My depression and anxiety were not as bad, I got to spend every day at school (i also loved school for school) with my best friends then spend the evenings just chilling talking to them, watching tv and youtube. I was just so innocently happy and content. These last couple of years, especially this year, has just had a lot of awful stuff happen. Now, I'm 22, I'm an unemployed graduate and I feel like I'm getting so old so quickly. I don't see a future for myself because I feel like I have nothing to offer, everyone on social media is like 15-19 and I feel so insecure when I see them. They all look so good and have 'aesthetics' from a young age whereas I'm now discovering new fashion styles and things yet I feel like I'm getting too old to wear them and follow the trends. I also live in a student city so I constantly see teens about and it makes me miss that part of my life so much.

At the same time, I have amazing friends, including my best friends from school who I'm still close to, I know I;m not 'behind' when it comes to the age people start their careers. I should be grateful that I loved my teen years and had so much fun to the point where I would choose to go back-I know not everyone is that blessed. I should cherish the memories I have from that time of my life and work on making new memories, but I just..miss it so so much. I'm so unhappy right now. My entire life feels like it's just come to a stand-still since covid and I haven't made any progress in any part of my life in months. I just don't know what to do and how to actually start doing something with my life.

P

Purpleplum