• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

I want to change careers: BPD symptom or genuine reasons to do so?

S

Sixxari

Lemme just say I have BPD, major depression, anxiety, social anxiety, PTSD and eating disorder.

I call my way of living "surviving thanks to inertia". I am pretty much surviving one hour after another, on autopilot, so I never really gave much thought to my career path etc.

I always went with what was available/what was expected. Not because I was forced, but because I have no particular dreams that I want to fullfil.

I ended up becoming teacher's assistant (working with 14yo kids) studying to be teacher. I started working a year ago. I am also studying remotely (uni, weekend classes).

After year of doing this, I am sick and tired. I don't feel like I want to do what I am doing. I get random urges to quit and go work some "easier" job - something where I am not put on the spot every minute, where I don't have to make hundreds of life altering decisions every day, where my social interactions won't matter that much.

My problem is that one BPD criteria:

- pattern of unstable relationships and unstable work life.

I know people with BPD often go from one job to another, always getting burned out, sick of it, craving change. What if that is my case? What if it's all just symptom of BPD and I would feel the same in my next job?

On the other hand, I genuinely feel like this sort of job is just not right for someone in my current mental state. It's goddamn exhausting to exist and to not kill myself. Add teaching to that mix? Logically thinking, it's disaster waiting to happen.

I have done zero school work this year. I am basically autopiloting my job. And all I think about while being there is that I am just tired and want to leave.