• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

I need help with maintaining focus

I

IceChimera

I'm an artist. Mostly digital art, but I also write, sometimes teach needle felting, or make art with nearly any material I can find. My goal is to be a comic artist and publish stories, either physical or just webcomics.
I am also a gamer, I prefer games that are creative, atmospheric, or survival focused. My favorites are Minecraft, Subnautica, and Anno 1701.
I've been diagnosed with Aspergers, Generalized Anxiety Disorder, ADHD, and suffer chronic migraines. I have prescriptions that effectively manage my GAD and somewhat mitigate ADHD. I see a therapist every six weeks; my anxiety gets substantially worse if I miss my appointments though I have no idea why it helps.

Even though everything seems well managed, I still don't feel like I'm able to be productive. I haven't "completed" any of my projects for months, I just lose interest and move on to another.
When I first started taking Concerta for ADHD I felt great. I was able to complete artwork, and for at least a week I fully completed a picture every day. However, mom didn't seem to like it as much, she thought I became a little manic or hyperactive. I've now been taking the drug for two years, with small dosage increases along the way, but I've never felt that sort of productivity since.

I also get minor anxiety attacks, but I don't feel like they're much of a problem anymore. I treat them like my severe migraine episodes: just take the day off. Even after the attack I'm mentally exhausted so there's nothing I can do except take it easy and go to bed early.