• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

I have a question...

L

Lisa4

I'm new to this but I would like some advice. I think I have a problem. I cry all the time, I struggle to get out of bed but I can't sleep at night, I eat like a pig, I snap at my boyfriend even when I know he hasn't done anything wrong. Ive almost completed my degree in Psychology which has been a complete drag but I truly believe I have depression.

I want to go to my doctors but the problem is I don't know what to say. I've become so good at hiding my true self from others that I honestly don't know how to explain how I feel. Also is it smart to bring my boyfriend with me?

I just want to talk to someone that can help me :low::cry2:

Just realised I asked two questions lol, but I would like it if I could get a response x​

Jaminacaranda

Jaminacaranda

All GPs should be familiar with depression so I can't see why you couldn't simply state that you think you might be depressed and outline your symptoms. Presumably not all doctors are equally sympathetic or knowledgable about depression and there's always the risk that the only treatment they would be willing to offer you would be anti-depressants so you might like to think about what your reaction to that might be in advance. There could be other reasons for your symptoms of course - tiredness, stress and/or anxiety spring to mind. There could even be a physical cause.
It would be a good idea to have your boyfriend go to the surgery with you but actually go in to see the doctor with you? Why would you want that? My GP wouldn't allow it I don't think. Do you really think you could talk completely openly with your boyfriend being there? If you are at Uni they usually have counsellors that you can refer yourself to - wouldn't that be a good place to start?
Hope you feel better soon :)

L

Lisa4