• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

I finally opened up to work about my issues.

Scott Chegg

Scott Chegg

Hi All

Today I finally opened up to my work about my illness. I'm not ashamed to admit I took the I'm a big tough man pull myself together approach when it came to work but the pressure just got too much.

I was prompted by an email sent to the company last night by my boss telling everyone they are expected to be back in the office and WFH is over which crushed me. WFH has been a revelation for me and I have felt the relief from this part of my illness for the last 18 months.

We have a mental health liaison where I work and although I have never used her before I finally emailed her the details and she is going to relay my problems to the boss, I'm just hoping he is understanding as where I work is very much a macho sales environment and I am one of the key sales guys for the company.

The aspects in which my illness affects me at the office are complex and I have panic attacks before and during work which are really embarrassing as I pay lots of visits to the bathroom to hide them and its just exhausting, meetings stress me out and I’m tortured inside during them and panic before them and I just bottle it all up, for years I have avoided work parties and going out to lunch with colleagues, all while being the top sales guy as I hide it very very well.