I feel trapped I need advice

N

Niknik

Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place to post so I apologise. And sorry for the long post.

I feel like I've got too much going on and I don't know a way out. Yesterday the feeling overcame me to injure myself just so I could just have a break.

Firstly I have a partner who really tries to be supportive but struggles and I feel like he says the wrong things all the time.

I am a teacher and its only my 2nd year teaching . I have a GCSE group who are all failing despite my best efforts. I have 2 year old, who I love to pieces but tests me daily to the point of tears. I am supposed to be moving house in a few weeks time, moving from rented accommodation to our home as my partner just wants our own space, which means we are going to be up to our eyeballs in debt. My partner is self employed and has good months and really bad months so my wage is the consistent, bills paid, food on the table wage.

I hate my job it makes me stressed and anxious, I don't sleep, I become a horrible person to be around. I'm falling further behind in my job as the way I feel gives me no motivation so I don't complete the mountains of marking I need to every week or the planning I need to do to deliver the best lessons. I'm stuck in a vicious cycle.

About 9 months ago I spoke to my GP about it, his conclusion I was suffering with anxiety and depression. And on to the anti depressants I went, I started weaning off them before Christmas and now I feel worse than ever. I don't want to go back on to antidepressants as they just mask what is wrong.

I want to quit my job but don't feel I have the skills to start a new career and I can't bear the thought of being a failure and letting the kids down. I also feel like we wouldn't survive as a family if I didn't work, nursery cost £500 a month for just 3 days so I'd have to have a well paid job to still be able to pay all other outgoings...