• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

I feel so useless and depressed because I can't drive

P

pokerfish12

I'm 22, I can't drive and I feel like a failure. If I had never had lessons it wouldn't really bother me, but it's the fact that I did take lessons at 17 like every other kid at school. I was a good driver but I failed my test 4 times on silly things. I felt so depressed and hopeless but then came the time for me to go to university anyway so I went and didn't have lessons in all that time. I've now moved back home and I know I should take lessons again but I can't afford it because I still don't have a job. When I had lessons as a teenager, my mom paid for my theory tests, lessons, driving tests and everything so no way would I ask her to pay anything again. It makes me sad because I live in a really toxic household so when I hopefully get a job, saving up to move out will be my priority, but now I will have to save for lessons as well. I know it isn't really the end of the world, 22 isn't that old and people learn at all ages, but having to start from scratch makes me feel really unmotivated. Having to study for my theory again and retake that because it's expired. Gosh :( Plus now I've developed a lot of anxiety towards driving, I'm not sure why. Maybe just the thought of getting back in a car after all these years and having forgotten everything.