• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

I feel paralyzed

StillFighting

StillFighting

I'm not even sure where to begin to describe what's been going on in my life, and how I feel. First, let me start by saying I've been diagnosed with GAD and BPD (I've been in therapy for quite some time, right now I have a 3-week break because of the holidays).

I graduated from my MSc about 3 months ago. This MSc gave me a hell of anxiety, so right after my graduation I took some time to relax. I wasn't always able to do this successfully, since from time to time I had these intrusive thoughts in my head saying "You have to start looking for a job NOW", "You are taking too much time to rest", "You don't deserve the rest", etc..

Thankfully, I did have times when I actually was able to relax, enjoy doing nothing, or enjoying doing several activities. Not too many, but they were still there.

So... 2 weeks ago, after 2,5 months of doing nothing, I started getting a little bit bored and I wanted to actually start looking for a job. I made the first steps and made some applications. I had two positive responses - 1 of them asked me for a phone interview, the other one asked me to take a test before proceeding further. I was glad to see that they were interested in me, but at the same time I felt overwhelmed. I felt like I was not prepared. I felt like I knew nothing and I would fail.

Christmas was also approaching - my family is away, my friends were away as well, and this started to take its toll on me. I was all alone, with all these racing thoughts in my head, I had no one to talk to and I started getting more depressed, or stressed, or both, I'm not even sure.