• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

I don't know how to deal with myself anymore

G

Grayday

Hello! I am a female university student and I'm 20 years old.I came here because I have a really bad self esteem, low confidence and no trust in myself. I feel like I'm not capable of living this life. I don't know what my goals are anymore. I have troubles making decisions (even very unimportant ones). But the major problem currently is my university. I feel like I am not capable of succesfully completing it. I cannot concentrate and I usually can't even bring myself to start doing work for it because I am so anxious (the fear of screwing up is paralysing). To cope with it I avoid everything connected to college (even classmates). I know that's not helpful and it's stupid and ignorant and it only increases the anxious feelings but I'm not sure how to stop doing that. I feel like the only thing that keeps me from being depressed are my friends and my family (when I'm with them I feel relaxed and I laugh - but maybe it's just a distraction because I only feel guilty later for feeling good because I don't think I deserve to feel good). When I do think about college and try to study I usualy cry and feel really stressed and then I just distract myself. I am really worried for my future. I also have frequent mood swings (that's why I avoid getting help from a therapist) - I am really afraid that they would judge me and they wouldn't believe me, because sometimes I don't even believe myself until it all hits me again. And I fear that they would just send me home saying that I'm just a spoiled idiot, that I have no right to feel that way because I have everything I need and I should just get my shit together without complaining to others. When I think of it it's probably true and that's when I get a bit passively suicidal because I don't want to be a dissapointment