I can't explain how having a cold reduce my anxiety and depression.

R

red10

Hello everyone

I'm new to the forums.

I've been diagnosed with anxiety disorders leading to chronic depression 2 years ago.
And i've been coping with these problems for 7 years now.
The starting point was having 5 to 6 panic attacks everyday for a whole week for no apparent reasons.

I've followed a cognitive therapy for a year that helped me a lot, giving me a lot of answers and methods on how to cope with these feelings and thoughts. It's still there though.

To summarise what my problems are: i overthink constantly and i have a hard time controlling it, i have a lot of body and metal tension somatically.
I experience things to a maximum of 10% of hapinness on a daily basis. Being at work triggers anxiety and depression and i feel a relief everytime i go home or on the weekends.

My question is: When i have a cold, the flu or any illness (swollen ankle works too) it tends to lower my symptoms that i described earlier,to me it seems that my unconcious focus on the illness and forget to trigger everything else.
I almost feel back to"normal" again.
When the illness is healed, depression and anxiety are striking again.

Has anyone experienced something similar to this? And is there any explanation ?

Thanks by advance.

TroubleinParadise

TroubleinParadise

As soon as I read the title I had a suspicion - that suspicion is that you are anxious due to a sense of responsibility towards everything; and that when you're sick that sense of responsibility fades. It fades because the responsibility is on getting better now - something you unconsciously know you can't control. For you getting sick is actually a break from life.

R

red10

Do you mean that in a way, i'm anxious about things that i have no control over?

TroubleinParadise

TroubleinParadise

I suspect that too - along with the overdeveloped sense of responsibility.

R

red10