I can't eat food around others/extremely self conscious

G

George10111

I'm very self conscious and I can't eat in front of others anymore. So many people live in my housing that I literally can never eat by myself anymore, unless I eat in my room. It always seems people have conversation with me while I've got food. They ignore me at all other times of the day and when I need someone to talk to but they can never leave me alone while I'm eating. I'm not good at eating, I make a mess and its embarrassing. People ask me questions while there's food in my mouth, expecting me to respond.

I can't stand eating with others. I have a hard time talking to people and its even more awkward when I'm trying to eat because I don't usually have anything to say so they can hear every chew and swallow. I gave myself an indigestion because this new girl wanted to sit down and talk to me while i was eating, which I don't mind talking to people really except when I'm trying to chew. Food and meals loses all its joy when there're people around. I can't go out to restaurants anymore either. I have to count my calories religiously because I have a very stubborn metabolism for a 25 yr old and I don't want to spend one of the only parts of the day that brings me comfort and joy, tripping out about what people think of me.

Side note I can't go to the bathroom when there's people around. There are a lot of people in this housing, constantly going into the bathroom. These bathrooms are located right in the public corridors of this housing so its incredibly difficult. I find myself driving to the local outhouse a mile away sometimes. How can I get over these phobias?

I have been made fun of a lot in my life for little things like this so maybe there's some scarring that needs to be treated and healed.

Poopy Doll

Poopy Doll