• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

I am new to this NEED ADVICE!!

H

Hard life

Ive never posted on these sites before and its kinda hard...But here goes....From the age of 6 years old i lost my dad to an horrific death he died in a car accident which lead to him being 70% first degree burnt. I remember the police arriving at the hostel for mothers and children which we where in. I remember the police saying that my dad was decesed i did not fully comprehend the full situation all i knew was my dad was not coming to see us anymore...Even at 6 years old i kept asking the police officer "Wheres my dad"? it wasnt until i got a little older i truly understood what happend but by this time it was too late the damage was already done growing up with no dad.

My mum had been with my father since they where 11 and at the young age of 33 pretty much my age now! As you can imagine this crippled my mum. She tried her best to make sure we was ok and she did a bloody god job considering the circumstances.

I seen my mum go from being a nurse to taking prescription drugs and alcohol. The demise of my life started here seeing my mum take overdoses and struggling to cope was itself a hard life. I was only young during the beginning of this i had no idea at this age why my mum wanted to do this all i could think of WHY! Did she still love me of course having looks of my dad is it my fault?.

I went through the care system for a little while i felt my mum hated me as a child...I really did not understand at this point. As the years past i looked at other families and seen the father and it gutted me to a point where i did not want to live. I never finished school and left in year 9...