• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

I am in way over my head. Does anyone know of a place like this?

S

spacial_rendering

I was a psychologist, once upon a time. I've seen the inside of a lot of hospitals and I've seen the way mental patients are treated. I didn't like it, myself but the system works for countless people. It would not work for him.

I had quit the practice for personal reasons. When I met him, he seemed perfectly normal and happy, despite his long psychological history that claimed otherwise. I should have taken the hint. We've been together for quite some time now and I fully understand how his history unfolded. I happened to meet him on a very long upswing.

He is a very rich man. He is also very damaged and I love him dearly. I would keep him here forever if I believed he could survive it but I have things in my house such as a stove, with which he cannot be trusted. He isn't suicidal. He puts it like this:

"These things are exciting. They exhillarate me. They make me happy. And (me), you and (his child)... no matter how perfect my life is, no matter how truly fulfilled I should be, there is that void. It follows me, everywhere. It haunts me and the little things that I do to top that off have nothing on you."

He smiled when he said this. I have been trying to help him for a while. We've tried medications, therapies. We are still trying. He is very resistant. Even when he is seemingly happy, he is injuring himself severely. I believed I could help him. Love conquers all, of course. This has not been the case.