• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

I am a diagnosed psychopath

M

menapoonaki

I'm 34 years of age, I am Arabic from iran and upper middle class. I graduated from a good college (uic and uchicago booth) and have a fairly lucrative career. I've never been arrested, fired or expelled from anywhere. My parents were still together and were not abusive.

I received my first "official" diagnosis from a psychiatrist I was seeing for another reason. (I was seeing him for several reasons, actually: he prescribed drugs for my insomnia, premenstrual pain and airport anxiety). He'd known me for several years and over time, once I realized he was not going to stop writing my Rxs should I reveal hints of my real personality acknowledging implicitly that I was faking my various conditions. our exchanges became relatively candid. His actual words were "you are a pretty textbook psychopath," and we had a conversation about it. It was one of the more informed conversations I've had on this topic, but it wasn't the first.

A therapist whom my parents forced me to see when I was a little girl terminated our sessions on the ground that I'd "manipulated" him (he emphasized this part) and hacked into his computer. The former was true, but the latter was not. He made some melodramatic comments to my mother about my lack of empathy and antisocial behavior, but stopped short of purporting to diagnose anything. A friend -- I do have friends -- who studied psych in college also told me more than once that I had psychopathic traits. He seemed to find this novel and amusing, and I admit that I do, too.