I Admit...I need to change!

A

Austin303

Hi Everyone,

I had a rough childhood which I feel shaped me for the worse as an adult. In our house our dad was often a bully (Old World East Coast Italian style) and my mom was spineless. He was furthermore detached from the family and was a pessimist. On top of this, I was "the fat kid" at school and had to fight self-confidence issues until I graduated college. I've had a bit of a stutter throughout my life, which I think may have been formed as a young child; Back then and now I was always talkative, so my selfish dad would always tell us to shut up or the like if we were talking when he was absorbed with his TV. Also, my parents disciplined by spanking and not by actual conversation, so that had a detrimental effect on me growing up. Also, my parents are pretty bad at holding conversations in-depth, so perhaps that rubbed off on me growing up and to the present. I think my social anxiety inhibits my ability to have in-depth conversations, however, once I get to know people I can chat easier.