• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Husband is very depressed but won't get help... what can I do?

D

Dragonborn

Hi Everyone

This is my first time on a forum and hope you could give me some much needed advice... I believe my husband is severely depressed and I am not sure what I can do.

My hubby has always had minor anger issues, but over the last few months he gets bouts of becoming increasingly angry over (what I consider) nothing. He gets terrible road rage and can blow up at anyone over the smallest thing... we went on holiday recently and he was so angry at this very long unorganised queue to get out of the airport that he started screaming abuse at anyone else in the queue that "looked at him" or thought they were "better than him" and screamed terrible abuse at the airport staff too (I am surprised he wasn't punched by someone or arrested, it was so bad).

I thought things were getting better recently, but last night he came home and was really angry that I had brought some new Tupperware pots that he didn't think we needed and already had too much of, he started screaming and even broke one of them!... he also accused me of trying to control him as I had bought lots of new healthy food and vitamins for us.

Usually I am quite calm and ignore his little rages (BTW he has never put his hands on me)... but we had quite a long discussion about his behaviour last night, he started crying and said he doesn't want to live anymore and feels like a failure and everyone else around us is "doing so much better than him"... we are also trying for a baby at the moment and haven't been successful.