• We have just changed our forum software and are still tweaking things. You can log in using your existing user name and password. If you spot any problems please let us know by posting in the Feedback and suggestions section of the forum.

Watch this short film to find out how to use the new forum!

how to talk

A

anne1999

hey

i think i've been doing self-harm for two years now. i don't think i can stop yet but i think i just need someone to talk this through. how to speak with your family and friends? i'm so tired of wearing long-sleeve shirts and coming up with excuses for that. i feel guilty i haven't told my family the truth.
i don't know how to speak to my family without breaking their heart. if i try to speak to friends i feel like they try to ridicule the problem or worse, they want to try self-harm on their own. i don't think i can trust a psychatriist i'm afraid he can tell my family and this would be so hard for me and for them to here it from someone else.
maybe you have some tips i would be so grateful
love
anne

calypso

calypso

Admin
hello Anne and :welcome: to the forum. I don't think a pdoc (psychiatrist) can tell anyone as it breaks confidentiality. As for friends, isn't there one who is wiser and more mature than the rest? Maybe tell one who you trust and ask them to be a sounding board. Tell them that you don't want them to "solve" the problem for you but just to listen to what happens when you feel the urge to self harm.

As for family, that is tricky. It all depends on what kind of relationship you have with them.