• Welcome! If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

How do you cope with schizophrenia?

J

JuniorMind10

Hi. I have been battling with schizophrenia for 5 years now. It is really hard. I have noone to relate to. I hear voices and I have frequent psychotic episodes. I was in a mental hospital for a couple of days but I was threatened by another pacient and I soon had to leave the hospital. I cannot find a job and I am still living at home. I am 30 years old. How do you manage?

LORD BURT

LORD BURT

It is hard. I am 46 and have been dealing with psychosis for over 20 years.

It still hurts me today but I am much more functional, stronger and braver than the younger me.

I would recommend becoming informed and insightful about the condition.

J

JuniorMind10

It is hard. I am 46 and have been dealing with psychosis for over 20 years.

It still hurts me today but I am much more functional, stronger and braver than the younger me.

I would recommend becoming informed and insightful about the condition.
Thank you for your answer. How do you cope with this illness on a day to day basis? How do you manage working? I have psychotic episodes which are similar in intensity and which really cause a lot of suffering to me when they happen. How can I manage them? Any advice is welcomed.

LORD BURT

LORD BURT

Well I was working up till the age of 37. Then I spent 7 years on sickness benefits. That helped me immensely. Really do what it is right for you. I do not recommend working if you are falling apart. It may be beneficial to take a low stress job until you feel more able.

On a day-to-day basis I try to keep calm, listen to music, vent online and talk about it.

I run a podcast where I speak to others with the illness and some have become friends.

It is a good idea to keep talking about it.

J

JuniorMind10