• Welcome! If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

How do I learn to trust new friends?

S

SS135

As a teenager, I had a best friend who I was really close to - we did everything together and I always assumed we'd be friends forever. When I was 18, I went away to uni and she cut me out completely with no warning or explanation. I was absolutely devastated and couldn't understand how she could do that to me. Since then, I've really struggled with making really close friends - I have a lot of friends but I'm not very good at getting close as I worry that the same thing will happen. If I do start getting close to a friend and then they don't reply to a message or call one time, I get really upset by it. I start to obsess over what I could have done wrong and think that they'll never contact me again. The only way I can maintain friendships is for them not to be too close but then I feel lonely because I don't have anyone to talk to. Does anyone have any tips on how to deal with something like this?

Ghost_Owl

Ghost_Owl

Forum Guide
It comes down to the classic adage about risk and reward. I too have lost friends over the years. There are two ways you can take this.

1.) To a fearful place because of the sharp hurt of losing a friend. If you do this you will find your friendships to be less authentic so less satisfying. Because you fear that sharp pain of loss, you are accepting a dull pain in its place. Which is actually worse in the long term.

2.) To an accepting place. You can view people as naturally transitory. The only thing you can be certain of is relationships change given enough time. So the important thing is to enjoy them while they exist. To get the most out of them before they are gone. To have those shared memories, experiences.