• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

How do I deal with family members who mock me for my emotions?

G

grassisgreener

Trigger warning: self harm, suicide

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting here and I've decided to today because this is the second time I've lashed out at my family after three months in quarantine. My family members are all relatively chill; so chill to the point where we kind of poke fun at each other when we get upset. I used to cause the most trouble as a teenager so they make fun of me the most. Whenever I even roll my eyes at something someone says, they make a big deal about it as a way of poking fun and I'm usually okay with it.

Since I began university, I feel my anxiety has significantly increased, and I actually have two exams to write next week. Because of this, I've mentioned to my family I need some time, I need to study, and I've explained all morning now that I can not join them outside to hang out because I need to study; the only thing that satisfies my anxiety is completing the thing I'm anxious about so I had to study.

I went to take a bath as a break and I asked my sister if she wanted to do a face mask with me. She came to me and asked if I wanted to go out with the family for a boat ride and at this point, I was feeling a bit like I was being unheard so that did hurt my feelings a bit but I kept it in (as I usually do), until I finally explained I truly can not go because I need to study. This came out more abruptly because at this point I felt very anxious that she was not listening to me, and when I did so, she put her hands up as a mocking "I surrender motion" and I felt extremely offended and upset that, again, I was being made fun of for having emotions.