• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

How did you come to love your body?

R

Rina

Hi this is my first time posting here! I'm a chubby anorexic girl who struggles with binge eating and bulimia as well. I've talked to my friends and family about my eating disorders, but I feel like i've hit a wall with them. They're never really going to understand it AND THANK GOD FOR THAT because I wouldn't want them to feel the way I do. I go back and forth between barely eating or not eating at all and binge eating and purging. I want to get better, but I'm unable to love my body right now. If you've managed to love your body or you're on your way to loving it, how did you do it?

Acorn

Acorn

Hello

I don’t really love my body but yoga helped me to connect to it and also respect it.

What really made the difference was working out why I hate my body. For me it’s due to abuse. I was punishing myself. I felt undeserving. I felt betrayed by my body. I needed therapy to process that and I’m still working on it

M

Mary26

I shifted my focus away from my body and started doing serious spiritual work. The people I was meditating with had this warm, open, loving energy and they saw (the inside) me. There was no value to being thin or pretty in that environment. It was healing and helped change the whole internal conversation.

G

goodgollymiss

Eating healthy foods can fuel the mind. If you focus on learning you won't mind the fat and it will probably go away slowly during the year. Bulimia could starve the brain down the road. You wouldn't want to lose your freedom because of a loss of cognitive abilities

B

BellJin

I can't say I love my body, but I try to. Every day I stand in front of the mirror and say that I'm beautiful

D

Darkveldt