• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

How can I help my brother..

U

user11223344

Hey everyone, I have an older brother in his mid 20's who has been suffering from depression for a few years. He never finished high school and has had a few jobs but nothing steady. He went to a hospital for 8 months a few years back and was doing really well when he got back but it all went downhill shortly after. He always stays in his room and never wants to talk about his problems.. I've suggested going to see a professional but he gets angry when I mention it. I hate to see him suffer like this, he used to be so outgoing but now he doesn't want to speak or see anyone.. How can I help him get his life back together?

Lavender_Rose

Lavender_Rose

Im not a profession, but his anger might come from feeling judged? Like no one understands him. Especially if he's experienced any of this from friends or family. Maybe approach it from a place of love by just telling him if he ever needs to talk your there for him. He might not want to talk then or even soon but sometimes just feeling like someone cares and is there for him. I know thats how I might feel. Maybe even tell him your know im there for you sometime just as a reminder. Im just saying this from the point of view of what I might want people to say to me. Just the reminder sometimes help, even if I don't take people up on the offer because I don't always believe it.

U

user11223344