How can I help a friend who cannot bring herself to take care of life stuff?

O

osonda

Hi,

I am completely new to this web site, looking for advice on how to help a friend who is dealing with (not too severe right now) depression but a very scary anxiety which causes an inability to take care of life needs.

We have been good friends for about 10 years. About 5 years ago she suddenly stopped answering my messages and other friends' as well. I suspected depression but I just could not reach her. A few months ago she recontacted me confirming my suspicion. She has basically been locked at home for all this time. She was a tenured professor and was being paid even without working, but now her contract has finally been discontinued. She has no income, no insurance, and still spends her time locked at home playing cell phone games and reading fantasy novels. She tells me that thinking about reality generates extreme anxiety so she cannot bring herself to do it.

Her savings can cover a few months of rent only and are going away; she lives in a rented house in very expensive San Francisco, so if she does manage to find an income, I am afraid she will have to move to some place far away even from me (her only friend at this time) or even go homeless. Her family lives in New York but she barely talks to them at this point (she tells me she will never talk to her mom again, and she talks to her dad -- who is still married to her mom -- infrequently).

I've been told that all a friend can do to help with depression is to listen, which I do. However, I wonder if I can do more. I do help here and there with small chores, but I have my own life and family to take care of so there is not a lot I can do. I very gently try to prod her sometimes to take care of the most important stuff but I don't nag (she made it very clear that she won't be nagged, which I understand).