• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Hi, newbie here

Flix91

Flix91

Hi guys,
i just joined because I'm feeling a bit lost and totally down at the moment.
Lately I've been feeling so much self-loathing, and thoughts of self-harming.

I'm 23, final year at uni…. so I have the stress added on to my low self-esteem and constant worrying.
I used to self harm when I was much younger around 16 as I didn't have a very good childhood, and that was my way of letting it out.. I then stopped when I was around 17, and although I had urges to self harm, I didn't… until about a month ago.
This was when everything got to me… uni, life, not trusting people and just hating myself…
Today I had a really shit day.. On my way home, on the bus, I was crying (discretely of course) just thinking about everything.. and thinking where I want to harm myself next..
Just the thought of it was giving me a bit of relief, and that was making me upset even more..

I'm not very good at conveying fully how I feel… but I appreciate any help from you guys..
thank you

Last edited by a moderator:

MarlieeB

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Hi and :welcome: to the forum.

I'm sorry that you are feeling like you want to self harm again today. I hope you can find a good way to distract yourself. We have a kinda chill out zone here, maybe you could look at them and see whether they distract you a little. (But if you go to the arcade don't beat my Christmas tiles score :p)

Anyway, What has triggered these feelings today? You don't have to say of course but it might be helpful to talk about it maybe?

Hope you will feel better after typing all that out.

Marliee x

Flix91

Flix91

Hi Marliee, thank you for your message…

I had a sh*t day at uni today, and just feel that nothing is going to plan.