• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Hi. Im a newbie

P

Phrike

Hi, Im in my mid-20's and I've been feeling empty and really low for a few years now.

Some days I feel fine and feel like I can handle just about anything the universe throws at me but I also get days where I feel really dark, like I'm in a dark hole alone and other days are more.. blurry (for a lack of a better word).. like I just dont care, i dont want to move or speak and I just want to be left alone.

I've also been having suicidal thoughts almost everyday since high school, but I dont actively act on it. Its just my mind would play scenes where I would do dangerous things that could end with my death. I kind of got used to the thoughts and just accepted it. But i know that one day my body will listen.

There are some other things that I feel like are wrong with me. and I've thought about going into therapy, but Im a little hesitant. Thats why Im here on this forum.. I want to know if there are people feeling the same thing, I want to know that I'm not alone and I also wanted to get this off my chest. I have a loving boyfriend, but I dont want to dump all of my mess unto him especially since he is also dealing with stuff at work and such.

H

hairybanana

Hey @Phrike sounds a lot like me in my early twenties. All of it, sounds like me. I could have written that, except maybe the boyfriend part.

As I said, yeah can relate to all of that, and I’m glad you’re thinking of looking into therapy, that’s an excellent idea.

It’s good you’re not feeling compelled to act on the thoughts of SI. Also want to share that this was something I dealt with too, as do a lot of people. It’s the brains way of problem solving when we’re in a state of despair.

P

Phrike