• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Hi, im a newbie...

J

Jo2512

Hi everyone, im on here becos im a carer and im trying to find someone who has experience with dissociation.Basically my partner has many diagnosis' all of which she handles really quite well but 2 wks out of every 4 its like living with an absolute stranger.She just dissappears in to herself. She looks, talks, dresses, eats and sleeps differently to when shes her 'normal' self.
Sometimes she can work with it but most of the time she doesnt even realise until its too late to pull herself out of it.

I guess im just wondering if anyone has any advice as this is putting a huge strain on our relationship.:unsure:

ms_P

ms_P

Founding Member
Hi and welcome to the forum. :welcome:

May I suggest that you consider those other 2 weeks as a part of her "normal self" as well?
This disorder (Dissociative Identity Disorder, if I read your post correctly) came about as a means of survival from an extreme prolonged trauma. The other alternatives would have been far worse.
I personally understand that this survival mechanism sometimes can do more harm than good in some situations in the present.

I'm hoping she is in therapy or counseling of some kind? There may be the same being offered to partners of people with this disorder. It would only benefit both of you to look into something like this.
Good luck :)

J

Jo2512