• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Hi gang!

carpediem

carpediem

Founding Member
I have never joined a forum...I guess you can teach old dogs new tricks..I I am a happy teacher with grown kids and a great husband and a Jack Russell terrier. I have had mental health issues for most of my adult life and have 'done it all' to deal with it. I am bipolar as was my mother, though I don't have huge swings that she did, and I am basically doing very well now. I had a major 'breakdown' as they called it in the old days..and developed the bipolar symptoms following that.
I joined the forum because I need advice from real people who know the reality of this life. Is there any way to get off meds? Now, at my age (58) I'm starting to have all kinds of digestive issues and I am really would like to get off the antidepressants.Also, insomnia is a big problem for me, and if I go off my pills, even for a day, I can sleep like the dead. I honestly believe I can cope with life now. without the pills.I have few pressures or worries, I am financially stable, and I have a lot of good friends and a supportive family. I know what my doc will say...that's just the way it is..like a diabetic has to take insulin...Is this really the way it has to be?:confused:

daffy

daffy

Founding Member
Hi carpediem and welcome:welcome:

Im a similar age to yourself and bipolar so can understand where your coming from. I keep asking to come off the meds but as yet they just tell me to keep taking them. I suppose the only thing you can do is keep pushing the psych to reduce them to see how you cope.

D

Dollit