• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Hi everyone

manicmama79

manicmama79

I'm new to this..I guess I joined in March but have never actually used it. Anyways, I am supposedly BP; I haven't seen any kind of mental health dr for over a year but I know I should. I moved from Chicago to Ohio to be with my fiance and never got a dr out here but really need to b/c lately I have been unable to even function, barely eating or doing anything around the house, just being extremely moody and not wanting to do anything; basically hating my life and everyone else.

In Chicago I saw a psychiatrist who told me I am BP after learning about my life, symptoms and family history. I was on Lamictal and Prozac for a while and then unfortunately my insurance wouldn't cover Lamictal so I have only been on Prozac. It's very strange because over the last year I have not really been manic at all..I have had pretty much suffered with severe depressive episodes. I am however on a medication called Topamax for migraine headaches, which is actually for epilepsy and can sometimes be used to control mania. Is anyone familiar with it? I used to abuse drugs and alcohol a lot when I had mania and also had a lot of hypersexuality. I never do any of that anymore :D but I don't really want to do anything :(

Well sorry for rambling but I'm glad to be hear..its nice to find people that actually understand. I am going to school for Psychology so people understand it by "the book" but that is much different. Hopefully I can get my butt in gear to actually make an appt with a dr like I should!

nickh

nickh

Founding Member
Hi and :welcome: to the Forum.