• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Hey, nice to meet you all

M

Magnix92

Hi everyone, I'm Tom.

Just to tell you about myself and my experiences with mental health. I have suffered from depression since I was about 14 or 15 (Am now 27) and am on an anti-depressant, although I've had periods since then where my mood has lifted, although recent times have been difficult due to lockdown restricting participating in activities I used to enjoy such as running and attending the gym.

I also suffer from low self-esteem and also have anxiety, OCD and Aspergers' Syndrome. As a result I've had limited experiences of social life due to partly previously actively avoiding activities due to fear of being judged or not accepted due to my previous experience of feeling rejected at school, although academically I have excelled and even completed a three year BA Hons Digital Media Production Course with a 2:1 Grade. I tend to catastrophize situations and overthink a lot and worry about the worst thing that could happen.

Sometimes even getting out of bed has been a huge struggle for me as well as sticking to eating regular meals due to lack of motivation and feeling inadequate. I compare myself to other people frequently especially guys my age or younger who are in a relationship; I am fully aware that not all relationships are positive and indeed know people who have experienced abuse from their ex-partners but for the last two years I have been fixated on getting a girlfriend due to feeling I have a severe lack of experience in this area; I had a two month relationship when I was 21 but this ended due to us discovering we were not compatible with each other.