• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Help or advice?

X

xlilhboox

Ok so I'm new to this, found the forum whilst having a browse online & well I sometimes hear voices when I'm trying to get off to sleep & it's usually female voices, haven't heard any recently but when I do & did that time it was quite muffled & then there was like a laugh, I had to kinda shake myself if that makes sense. I suffer from depression & anxiety & just really looking for help & advice, I'd be most grateful.

Kerome

Kerome

If it just happens once in a while you probably don't need to worry about it. There is a whole range of phenomena that happen when you go to sleep and wake up, it's called hypnogogia, you can look it up on Wikipedia. It's fairly common and some famous historical figures have cited it as an important source of inspiration for what they did.

If it does worry you, you could get in touch with the Hearing Voices Network. That is a grouping of people, many of whom are not diagnosed with a mental health condition, but who do sometimes hear voices. They have chapters all over the world. Or you could discuss what you hear on this forum, and people here will be happy to give you an opinion!

Medication is something that I wouldn't advise in your case. A doctor would probably call it a hallucination and prescribe antipsychotics, but those medicines often have significant side effects and can be difficult to come off of. So if the voices you hear are infrequent and don't really cause distress, I wouldn't go down that road.

And :welcome: to the forums!

Kerome

Kerome