• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

help needed esa

S

salliedoll

good evening everyone newbie here looking for some information
at present i have been getting esa for 11 years now, and i am placed in the support group and i receive pip.also..i am thinking of getting married to my fiance who works full time , at present i live with my father who is disabled we are joint tenants ,, would i loss my benefits if i married.. any help will be grateful x:)

R

Rebeca1

Yes I think you would, try going to the citizens advice I think you would keep your pip tho.

T

Tabby 88

Former member
Benefits always change whether you get married or not.

There are different rule dependeing on contribution based esa or income related, however most will soon be on universal credit anyway.

Pip is yours and is not calculated in anything so you will never lose that and it will never be put down as income for you or dad or husband. It is irrelevant which is great.

ESA in the past, contribution based was for one year only if you were living with someone who worked and earned a certain (small) amount. I don't know about now.

Income related is different

It used to be anyway. You can have joint claims also. You should get married and live together if you wish, and not worry about problems afterwards. You will probably have less money because you will need less as you are sharing bills, some might say.

My sister and her boyfriend are on jsa and they have a joint claim. They have a similar amount of income as if they were not together.

Your best bet is to phone the dwp or speak to cab/phone cab.

W

*winofunk*

The first thing you should consider is whether or not the change in circumstances would trigger a new claim for Universal Credit. Examples of what changes trigger a claim for UC can be found at:

Universal Credit triggers - Entitledto