• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Help me please - my experience with services

B

Bubblyblue

Hi, I just want to share what's been happening to me for the past 2 years, and how angry I am at mental health services. I will just summarise.

I am aged 24, female, live in the UK. I have been working in the mental health sector for 3 years. I have suffered from clinical depression for about 8 years, but was untreated and undiagnosed. This depression arose from childhood/adolescent emotional abuse, neglect, bullying etc... Last year I split up from a 2 year relationship. I have attachement issues, I cant get over someone easily (I obsessed with a celebrity for 10 years). After the split last year, I couldnt take it anymore, so I told my GP, was put on antidepressants, tried few brands, which didnt seem to lift my mood. I began to use alcohol and promiscous sex as a coping strategy. I lost my job, due to drinking alcohol. I received counselling, it helped with my alcohol problems. I paid for a couple of sessions of therapy with a psychologist, but stopped cos I could not afford it.