• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Hello...

P

psychiatry_sho

Hi there..

I'm a first year SHO in psychiatry. I did a psychology degree halfway through my medical degree too (mainly neuro/cognitive stuff),and got interested that way. I'm joining this forum to try and learn more from the patients' side and hopefull implement ideas into my practice.

I have actually got my doubts about psychiatry, and wonder what the hell I'm doing sometimes, because mental illness is not very well understood. Although I think terms like "chemical cosh" or "chemical straitjacket" are sensationalised and miss the point, I do understand that the medications used for alleviating psychosis ("antipsychotics") are essentially tranquillisers.

I don't necessarily have a problem with doing that if they help the patient gain perspective and stability to the extent that they can engage psychologically with therapy , their community, and function better, moving towards a happier life. I do have a problem with the fact that they often cause TD and other side effects (diabetes etc) and blunt emotions. I am hopeful future research will produce less debilitating drugs.

That's just psychosis though of course. In my short time in psych I've also seen severely depressed people improve with the help of anti depressants, bipolar people get their lives back, and seen older people with alzheimers perk up on rivastigmine and donepezil. Social and psychological input are invaluable however - I think the medications at the moment are a good initial holding measure which allow people to regroup psychologically, ideally speaking.

I hope you don't all hate psychiatrists, we're not all greedy bastards, some of us have the best intentions.