• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

hello :)

L

loaaol

hi :) I'm not very good at explaining myself, so i apoligise in advance :p
It's just everythings changing and i need some stability and support which i'm sort of wanting of you guys. Selfish i know.
Where to start with me, errm, iv'e had depression for about 2 years, due to something that happend when i was little. My doctor refered me to councilling, and i know i should go. I just don't like new things, and am very scared :(. I also think i have a bit of an ocd, and really want to stop it, as it's embarrasing when people see stuff, which i do :p
So anyone who can help me or advise me of whats the best step to getting better i'd be soo gratefull :) thanks x

CelticTwilight

CelticTwilight

Decisions, decisions

:welcome: loaaol,

I am prone to procrastination myself so not the best person to offer you advice on what to do. Perhaps coming to a firm decision about whether to go for counselling is the first step, after all if you go ahead with it you could always change your mind if it is not right for you at this particular point in your life. I have had counseling which worked for me and counseling which did not. There has to be a workable relationship going on IMO, otherwise it can be a bit like talking at cross purposes and creating problems which you hadn't even considered and coming out with your head whizzing round. Overall, with time, counseling enabled me to move on from certain issues but I also learned a bit more about myself and the people around me.