• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Hello newbie here

B

Ben35

Hi, I'm Ben.

I am from Devon in the UK.
I am in need of some advice and support. My long term fiance developed bipolar in 2016 and left me. We were on off for 18 months but it didn't work out. She contacts me around twice a year, usually April or May time and again October or November. When she contacts me it's usually about getting back together. Sometimes it's only a fleeting thought of hers but others it's full on. She lives alone and doesn't always get the support she needs.
It totally destroyed me when we broke up as there was no warning and iv finally managed to put my life back together. I will always care for her but iv met someone else. I'm scared it may tip her over the edge if I tell her. Please help

T

Tjc93

Hi Ben
Try not to be scared. Mental health is a very complex condition and not one person experiences the same symptoms. It's sad that you have to go through this and I can imagine it's causing you some anxiety having met someone else and also expecting your ex partner getting into contact with you. Firstly, be honest about her mental health to your new partner and explain that she may be in contact with you soon so that this isn't a shock to her. Secondly, if your ex partner does contact you, just try small replies, try not to get into a conversation, keep them short and sweet and wish her well. Don't be anxious about the future and something that may not happen. You also need to remember that she will be aware its been 5 years since your break up and that you have moved on with your life since your break up. Try to keep your chin up and deal with the situation as it arises, you never know, it may not happen. I wish you well 😊

B

Ben35

Hi Ben