• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Hello /Need to talk

S

SuperPancake

Hello everyone, I hope you are doing well, and for those who are not, I wish you will soon :)
I'm 28yo, I am a dentist. I need to talk about something and if you can, please give me ur opinions i will deeply appreciate it.

There is a guy that let's say our families know each other. I had seen him a couple of times, but that's allo. He is blind from birth. He needed a dentist because his previous retired so his parents though of me. He had quite a bad experience because he broke a tooth and we needed several appointments to do root canal treatment and a crown. He was scared but he was trying to control it. I was never before in such a close distance with a blind person. He invited me to his place and we had dinner with his parents. We went to his room, i was impressed on how technology does help him to get around, from braille books to voice control in his computer. He asked me if he could touch my face. I suppose this helped him to understand how I look? I didnt know how should I react for him to feel comfortable. We see each other from day to day or we chat from messenger. I do feel uncomfortable that what i type is pronounced by an electronic device though. I cant figure if i have an interest that's deeper from just caring for someone. This guy (I feel) wants/needs to receive love. Even if i touch his hand when we listen to music I receive the feedback. I dont know what to do and what I feel..

Tawny

Tawny

Forum Guide
Welcome

You can't have a relationship with this person whilst they are a patient. I don't think you should go to their house again, maybe also not treat them and pass them to a colleague?

What do you think?

I don't know how long the time break needs to be between being a patient and possibly dating someone, but i would think a year. I have no idea.

S