Hello! I need some advice about self harm

M

mango smoothie

Hello!I'm new to this forum as well as self-harm and i have many questions. I'll begin with a bit of context. I am a student from Massachusetts and I have been self harming for a few (6 or 7) months. It started off pretty infrequently, however in the past month it has escalated and I am now self harming multiple times per day. I haven't told anyone yet. My parents have offered to take me to therapy in years past but I told them I was fine I'm not really sure why I self harm, but I have done a lot of self-reflection and I think I blame myself for things that aren't my fault, I put a lot of pressure on myself and I am afraid of failure. Additionally there is a lot of conflict between my parents and even though I know they both love me, it's hard for me to sit there and watch this happen. Also, for me this is the most stressful time of year in school. I think my self harming is a cumulation of all of these factors but I'm not really sure.
One odd thing I have noticed is that there is this voice telling me that I am faking it and I'm doing this for attention, which is weird because I do my best to hide the scars. I think this is partially caused by the way I present myself which is in a very normal and happy way. I guess to everyone else i seem so happy that this wouldn't seem possible but when I'm alone it's an entirely different story. Overall I'm very confused and I have a lot of questions so here it goes:
1) Do I have a problem?
2) should I stop?
3a) do I need to tell someone
3b) if so who/how should I tell someone?
4) do I need therapy or some sort of professional help
5) do you have any other advice or recommendations?
I'm really sorry that was very long but any help or advice would be appreciated! :)

Luci

Luci

Self harm is a very personal thing so you've took a big step in talking about it :)