• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Hello. I have previously had psychiatric commitments….

R

reppihc

Former member
on both a involuntary and voluntary basis. My first experience with psychiatry was about 8 years ago. I began experiencing acute anxiety while I was a teacher, which persisted for about one year. The original experience I had of acute anxiety was followed by a subsequent involuntary civil commitment a few years later, which was followed by another voluntary commitment, which was followed by another commitment.

I’m 35 years old, and the majority of my support comes from my parents. From a standpoint of legal jeopardy, I seldomly used marijuana prior to my first experience with psychiatry, which was in 2013. I am not a drug abuser, nor I am involved in any actions that would have risen to a level of question beyond a local level in my opinion prior to 2013, which was my first experience with psychiatry. My subsequent actions were not an attempt to cause questions for the psychiatrist who originally diagnosed me with persecutorial delusions.

I questioned whether or not, when experiencing acute anxiety, a criminal element might have been at play, which wouldn’t necessarily have pertained to my actions, which could have been deemed cause for question.

At points, a legal gray area might have been perceived to have existed. I would not presume a legal gray area would have existed as of Spring 2021, however. I believe by that point, the proper legal channels would have placed the psychiatry within context. At that time, the persecutory delusions and other subsequent diagnoses would have, I believe, been labeled inaccurate.