• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Hello, everone

D

DitRichard

I self-diagnosed (dangerous, I know) Avoidant Personality Disorder by reading a lot of books on psychology and articles on the internet. I also used an online self-test as follows:

Test
Your Score: Strong Indication of Avoidant Personality Disorder
Your answers suggest a strong indication that you are experiencing symptoms common among people with avoidant personality disorder.

I am not young and it took me a while to arrive at this disorder. I suspected various other things until I arrived at AvPD. Anyway, I came here in the hope that I can discuss the disorder with others who feel the same.

I was a professional person for many years, but gave this up for something more mundane, in order to remove the stress element. Despite my age, I struggle in relationships with women - big time! I've probably survived this long because I have a sense of humour and like cats - apparently stroking them lowers my heart rate!

I look forward to meeting any similar 'sufferers' here, if there are any!

P

Peacedreamer4

Hi, Dit Richard ironically I struggle with relationships with men trying to work on it though. Interesting you said you worked in the field were you a psychologist?

OmniscientNihilist

OmniscientNihilist

u better find and read this article i wrote on this site

irwin

irwin

I also suffer from Avoidant Personality Disorder and pretty severe social anxiety. It's all the result of low self-esteem, which is the root cause of most of my problems.

Talina

Talina

Forum Safety Team
Hi DitRichard and welcome to the forum :welcome: