• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Having lots of long term issues, Someone please take me seriously!!! (Long post)

S

Space Monkey

Having lots of long term issues, Someone please take me seriously!!! (Long post)

Hello people!
This is my first time on a website like this and i just wanted to tell you a little bit about myself and my current problems. I want to get them 'off my chest' and just try to speak to someone who understands.

About me:
Sex: Female
Medical Problems:
Anxiety
Insomnia
Triple Vision
Seizures
Asthma

Basics:
I'm in a happy relationship and have been for the last years, with the softest loyal guy you'd ever know.
I'm not depressed, or suicidal in the slightest.
No history of bad relationships (friends or family)
No physical/sexual/ emotional abuse (giving or receiving)
No substance abuse
I have been to therapy before for a shot period of time but the person i saw wasn't very good and nothing happened.

My father left home when i was 5 (few days after my birthday in fact) I saw him 1-2 times a week, but i never felt i got 'attention' from him. I use to self harm at a young age as this is the only way i felt he cared.

I have been to doctors none stop the majority of my life due to my triple vision / seizures being caused by some unknown brain disorder.
I have mentioned how i feel (all the stuff below) and just got shrugged off many times, they don't take me seriously. One GP printed me off a sheet about not sleeping and told me it was MY FAULT i have these issues, Way to make someone feel better.

> Lack of Concentration