• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Has Bipolar Interrupted Your Education?

jb5784

jb5784

I was a student at a top-ranked US university and a manic episode that lasted two years forced me to leave school. I was completely delusional and thought God had given me special powers to find the meaning of life. I ended up dropping out of university three times. I'd like to go back and complete my degree and eventually get a Ph.D. but I'm concerned Bipolar will once again turn things upside down. Has this happened to any of you guys?

NWiddi

NWiddi

Forum Safety Team
A support worker for my mental health team has bipolar and manages to be very good at his job, they send him on courses regularly to update his skills and because of his lived experience he's an amazing advocate for recovery.

He spent a total of three years on various wards in the 80's with his manic depression which is what they now call bipolar and he even had psychosis. He's written three books about his life and recovery and been on the radio and gives talks about recovery.

I know it may not compare much to university life and the stress that may bring but as I said he's very good at his job.

N

Notalwaysever