• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Has anyone ever lost the voices or are they here to stay?

J

Jambon78

Hello ,

I have been hearing voices for 10 years now. I have suffered with addiction to drugs in my past and been on every medication going.

My question is, do the voices ever go?

Jambon

Lone_wanderer

Lone_wanderer

I stopped hearing voices a few weeks after starting on Risperidone, however when that drug stopped working after eight years or so I hallucinated people talking about me in the street and on the bus. I also believe I saw people who weren't there. I'm stable now on Flupenthixol and don't herar any voices though I did hallucinate someone talking on a radio in the hallway outside my door the other day.

Kerome

Kerome

There are some interesting questions here around how people's conditions progress. As I've had it explained to me the brain adapts to medicines - for example, if you take a medicine that is a dopamine antagonist, so reducing your dopamine levels, then the brain will make more dopamine producing cells. That means in the long run you will need more medicine, and eventually the medicine may stop working entirely. But at that point your brain is adapted to a high dose of the medication, it is no longer in the original state.

So in effect the use of the medication has caused some of your brains functions to distort. At the same time, your underlying condition may also have progressed. With some schizophrenics for example the condition gets gradually more severe. This may happen in the brain, or perhaps elsewhere in your being, we don't truly know. These two effects on your baseline condition together mean that, if you were to disregard the effect of meds, you become progressively more unwell over time.