• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Guns?

bupanishad2012

bupanishad2012

Should anyone, particularly we who Post here, be able to buy or use guns of any sort and for any reason whatsoever? I am a Vietnam Vet and bought a 22 calibre pistol when I returned from the war, but subsequently sold it to my uncle. I actually quit using guns after that---it being now about 45 years. I told my wife once that if I ever bought a real gun (not just a BB or pellet gun), it would only be for one reason---suicide. So, we have NO guns in the house (not even BB or pellet guns). I was an avid shooter in my youth---until Vietnam. Soon after coming back from there I turned against owning guns entirely---even at my most suicidal. As I have said many times, anyone can be a killer, but there few that can heal. I take the side of the real healers! (I am NOT a doctor!) I am a Buddhist.
With Great Compassion!

P

precious

Hi
In the UK there are strict laws on guns and owning them. People with MH issues would not even be considered to own a gun licence here.
observing from this side of the water I often wounder why it is a given right to own a gun in the USA.
Some laws you have I agree with, you should be able to get rid of intruders on your property, by what ever means, over here we cant unless it is really necessary, we are told to creep out of the house or barricade ourselves in a room until the intruder has gone rather than confront him.
But there is far too much unecessary gun crime. Is it worse over here than the USA I have not seen the stats. Is it better for all to be able to have a gun and just those who take advantage of the black market and use guns for the wrong reasons.
Do you think the laws in the USA will be changed?

unlucky

unlucky

Founding Member