Going around in circles

J

Juls

I'm almost 27, I've been battling depression for more than 5 years, with therapy and medicines, but I feel like I'm not going anywhere. I go through some terrible times when self-hate, despair and suicidal tendencies eat away everything else in my life, and then I shift to more "relaxed" times where I'm either numb or just sad and mildly self-hating, to then again fall down the rabbit hole when a trigger sneaks up on me.
The only progress I've made is recognizing certain patterns as they happen.
The worst trigger for me seems to be romantic interest - I periodically grow romantically attached to men I barely know and who show no interest in me whatsoever, and then this feeling of unrequited affection grows and grows and becomes despair and self-hate for not being good enough to be loved by them.
I'm perfectly able to look at this rationally, I can see that I set myself up to fail each time, as this only happens in situations where I'm aware that the other person is uninterested in me romantically to begin with, and/or we barely know each other and are very incompatible.
I can see the pattern, but I'm unable to stop the fall once it begins.

Now I can feel it happening again, in a moment where I'm already struggling to keep up with what little life I managed to rebuild, and I'm not even able to talk about it to my therapist - the shame is too strong. I know she's not there to judge me, but talking about this out loud makes me hate myself to an insane degree, it kills every bit of self-respect I have left. I open my mouth and nothing comes out, I just can't admit it's happening again.
I'm so tired, I can't concentrate in neither study or work, sadness and self-hate is eating me away and an ugly depressive episode is building up, I can feel it, and I'm powerless to stop it with logical reasoning.